WHY OTTAWA EATS VEGAN?

Ottawa eats vegan instagram logo

Welcome! 

I wanted to dedicate my first post to why I started this blog. It all started after a particular moment I had at work.

This man, my friend and I were waiting to take the elevator. Once it arrived, the man knew the girls coming out and asked where they were going for lunch. They said ”The Green Door, you want to join?”. Let’s just pause here and take a moment to appreciate this place….all good? me too. Okay let’s continue.


After this, the man immediately said ‘no thanks’ and laughed. I’m usually pretty quiet but when someone brings up something, someone or a place that I love, I speak up. So I said to my friend ‘I love that place!’. She then asks me ‘Is it like a bunch of salads?’ and the man laughed and mentioned that that’s the same thing he would ask. 


I am not a confrontational person, quite the opposite, so I simply smiled. The man was not mean about it and say that he heard great things about that place, to which I replied: ‘Yes, everything is so good!’ Will that make him try the restaurant? Probably not, but that wasn’t the issue here.


When we got out of the elevator, my friend asked me again ‘So what do they have?’. My answer to this question is what bothered me. I simply said’ You know, pasta salad and… well so many stuff!.’ I could not think of anything food they sold, even if I when there a couple of weeks back and devoured my entire plate.


I don’t know about you, but whenever I get asked about vegan or vegetarian food, it’s like my mind goes blank. There’s so much things I could say and I get really exited when someone asks me but nothing comes out. I cannot for the life of me put sentences together that can truly describe the goodness of vegan, plant-based food!


What I’m disappointed is that by me saying vague things, it will certainly not convince my omnivore friend to at least try a vegetarian/vegan place. So I thought it would be a great opportunity to start this blog and show how amazing vegan food can be. 


I want to show what are the vegan options that are available here in Ottawa. Where you can buy it, how much it cost, does it taste good, etc. I would also like to focus on healthy food items that are naturally vegan and are beneficial to our health.


Even thought this information is available on various other blogs and websites, I would like to dedicate some posts to restaurants and cafes offering vegan options or even better, the ones that are fully vegan!


Also, any feedback is very much welcomed and appreciated! I’ve been vegetarian for over 12 years but vegan is quite new to me. I try as best as I can. The food I buy with my own money is always vegan and it will always be. My thinking is that I’m not going to give my hard earned money to companies that supports animal abuse and that are destroying our environment and/or our health. It just doesn’t sit right with me.


Thank you for reading and let me know your story below in the comments. I’d love to read them!

Leave a comment